Town of Canmore

Boards and Committees

Town of Canmore boards and committees provide our elected council with advice and assistance with decision-making.

Most boards and committees include community-minded volunteers from all walks of life.  Public members are appointed every October. Visit Apply for a Committee for more information. All committees have public members (except Finance CommitteeSubdivision Authority, Municipal Emergency Advisory Committee, and Enforcement Appeal Review Committee where membership is restricted to either administration, the mayor, and/or councillors).  Learn more about each committee by clicking the links below.

Finance Committee

The committee consists of all members of council plus the Town's chief administrative officer (non-voting member). Finance Committee meetings are open to the public.

Read More

Subdivision Authority

The committee decides on any proposed subdivision applications such as municipal reserves, school reserves, and public road rights of way..

Read More

Municipal Emergency Advisory Committee

The Municipal Emergency Advisory Committee reviews the Municipal Emergency Management Program and related plans annually and provides guidance and direction to Canmore's Municipal Emergency Management Agency.

Read More

Enforcement Appeal Review Committee

The Enforcement Appeal Review Committee hears appeals of written orders, notices, or decisions issued by community peace officers, or relevant bylaw's enforcement authority for the Animal Control Bylaw, Business Registry Bylaw, and the Taxi Bylaw.

Read More

Council Remuneration Review Committee

The Council Remuneration Review Committee makes recommendations to Council with respect to approval of the Council Remuneration Policy.

Read More

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test