Town of Canmore

Pedestrian and Cyclist Only Main Street

Main Street will return to a pedestrian and cyclist-only space in summer 2023. Vehicles will no longer be able to travel down Main Street from 6 Avenue to 8 Avenue starting Monday, May 8 until October 11, 2023. Pedestrians will continue to have the right-of-way on both our multi-use pathways and in this downtown zone. 

Are you a business on Main Street? Consider applying for the Main Street Pedestrian Zone permit to make use of the public right-of-way for your business to provide services.

You can find a map showing locations of all barrier-free parking stalls in the Town of Canmore on this webpage.

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test