Town of Canmore

State of Local Emergency

What does declaring a state of local emergency mean?

The Emergency Management Act outlines the powers of a local authority when a State of Local Emergency (SOLE) is declared. You can read the whole act here. 

A summary of the powers that declaring a SOLE provide us as per the act is as follows:

  1. cause any emergency plan or program to be put into operation;
  2. acquire or utilize any real or personal property considered necessary to mitigate the emergency; (must pay compensation)
  3. authorize or require any qualified person to render aid of a type the person is qualified to provide;
  4. control or prohibit travel within the municipality; (not to the municipality)
  5. provide for the restoration of essential facilities and the distribution of essential supplies and provide,
  6. maintain and co-ordinate emergency medical, welfare and other essential services in any part of the municipality;
  7. order the evacuation from any area within the municipality and make arrangements for the adequate care and protection of those persons evacuated
  8. authorize the entry into any building or on any land, without a warrant, by any person in the course of implementing an emergency plan or program;
  9. cause the demolition or removal of any trees, structures or crops if the demolition or removal is necessary or appropriate in order to reach the scene of a disaster, or to attempt to forestall its occurrence or to combat its progress; (must pay compensation for damages)
  10. procure or fix prices for food, clothing, fuel, equipment, medical supplies, or other essential supplies and the use of any property, services, resources or equipment within the municipality for the duration of the state of local emergency;
  11. authorize the conscription of persons needed to meet an emergency.

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test